Hunting While Intoxicated Is a Thing And The Legal Limit Will Soon Drop in NY State
Yes, we all know about the dangers of driving or boating while intoxicated. It's been a pretty straight forward message for many years.
However, those who don't hunt may not be fully aware of New York state's laws concerning hunting while intoxicated. The state's current blood-alcohol content limit is 0.10 percent. According to the Adirondack Explorer, however, that limit will soon be lowered:
The Senate on Wednesday voted 56-5 to amend the law effective Sept. 1. That followed the Assembly’s 147-1 vote, also without floor debate, a day earlier.
This will lower to the limit to 0.08 percent, similar to driving and boating alcohol laws. According to the Adirondack Explorer, hunting while intoxicated is a misdemeanor under the state's conservation law. Penalties include a $500 fine, up to a year in jail and revocation of one's hunting license for up to two years.
Pennsylvania snd Connecticut have recently passed similar laws.
Listen to Middays With Hopkins on weekdays from 10AM to 2PM on 101.5 WPDH through your WPDH mobile app. Connect with WPDH on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.
- Idiot Crashes Car Attempting to 'Drift' on Route 44 in New Paltz
- We Tour 21 Abandoned Businesses on Route 9
- Hudson Valley Waitress Brought to Tears Over Surprise Tip
- New York Lake Named Most Beautiful in America
- Top 6 Hudson Valley Restaurants Featured on Food Network
- Enormous Fish Live in Hidden Cave Under City of Poughkeepsie